Glen Cove Yacht Club

2017 Events

Open Houses: Come take a look at club, see what we're all about. All are welcome.

  • Open House 1: Sunday, February 12, 1:00 - 4:00 pm
  • Open House 2: Sunday, March 12, 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • Open House 3: Saturday, April 8, 11:00 am - 1:00 pm

 

Potluck Dinners
  • Sunday, March 19, 3:00 pm - 9:00 pm (following St. Patrick's Day Parade)
  • Saturday, April: 29th, 6:00 pm
  • During season: TBA

 

Workdays

Launch & Floats Workday: Saturday, April 8, 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Docks In Workday: Saturday, April 15, 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Alternate (Weather) Docks In Workday: Sunday, April 29, 12:30 pm - 2:30 pm
House & Grounds Workday: Saturday, May 6, 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

Docks-Out Workday: Saturday, November 4, 9:30 am  - 11:30 am

Alternate (weather) Docks-Out Workday: Sunday, November 5th, 10:30 am  - 12:30 pm


Commissioning:
Saturday, May 13th, 3:00 pm - Official opening of the 2017 season. A brief ceremony followed by our opening party to celebrate.  Bring a dish!

Racing: Informal round the buoys racing, open to any member boat.  No experience necessary.  Followed by an on-shore party.

  • Pina Colada Race, Saturday, August 5, 2:00 pm Skipper's Meeting, 3:00 pm Pursuit Start (start individually at times per handicap, finish together),  Pina Colada Party/Raft up after race


Cruising: cruise in company with other members to area destination, raft-up or shore side get-together.

  • July 22-23, destination TBA
  • August 12-13, destination TBA


Club Events: 

Sunday, March 19th: St Patrick's Day Parade 1:00 pm (join the GCYC float), Party 3:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Spring General Membership Meeting: Saturday, April 15, 3:00 pm (following Docks-In Workday)

July 4th Party (date TBA, coincides with Glen Cove Fireworks), 3:00 pm - 11:00 pm  BYO food, grills, beer & soda provided. Watch the fireworks!

Fall General Membership Meeting:  November 4, 11:30 pm (following Dock-Out Workday)

Holiday Party:  Saturday, December 2, 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm


Ladies at the Helm:  Ladies at the Helm is an association of women and men dedicated to improving the skills and participation of women in the sport of boating.  Lectures are free and open to the public; Sunday Summer Social Sailing open to female GCYC Members on the last Sunday of each month.  Join as a House Member to take advantage of this opportunity!

  • Ladies at the Helm: Sunday, June 25, 2:00 pm
  • Ladies at the Helm: Sunday, July 30, 2:00 pm
  • Ladies at the Helm: Sunday, August 27, 2:00 pm
  • Ladies at the Helm: Sunday, September 24, 2:00 pm